Get Thrashed: The Story of Thrash Metal (2006)

Kundrat Productions

Watch Part Number: 1 | 2
Not yet rated
Views: 15,810
Date Added: 13 years ago.

Documentary Description

The GET THRASHED journey begins in the early 80s, where Metallica and several other bands laid the groundwork for what would become a lasting impression on the face of heavy metal music. These bands helped ignite local scenes in Los Angeles, the Bay area of Northern California and New York City, which helped fuel a worldwide thrash metal movement. By the dawn of the 1990’s, thrash bands had gone from playing backyard barbeque parties to headlining arenas and Metallica were on their way to becoming one of the biggest metal acts of all time. But as legions of headbanging, stage diving and moshing metalheads were flocking to see their favorite bands, the tides had begun to change. In the early 1990’s, an evolving musical landscape sent thrash spiraling back into the underground. Some bands broke up, some artists returned to their day jobs and some passed away. While the music lived on, the scene was forever changed.

Get Thrashed: The Story of Thrash Metal is the award winning documentary film which traces the rise, fall and impact of thrash metal; from its early years, through its influence on grunge, nu metal and today’s heavy metal scene. It is the story of the heaviest, hardest music of the 80s and early 90s as told by the bands that lived it, the fans and bands that grew up on it and by the artists that carry the “thrash metal” flag today. Get Thrashed throws new light on an overlooked, yet incredible music scene and how it went from a simple rumbling in the underground to a loud, obnoxious roar in the (almost) mainstream.

The film features the music of and interviews with members of Metallica, Megadeth, Slayer, Slipknot, Pantera, Exodus, Anthrax, Lamb of God, Testament, Overkill, Godsmack, Municipal Waste, Kreator, Suicidal Tendencies, Hatebreed, Killswitch Engage, Sepultura, Shadows Fall, Nuclear Assault, Death Angel, Vio-lence, Destruction, Sodom, DRI, In Flames, Chimaira, Biohazard, Hirax, Meshuggah, The Haunted, Kittie, Heathen, Ulysses Siren, Warning SF, Soilwork, Dark Angel, Strapping Young Lad, Brian Slagel (Metal Blade Rcords), Jon & Marsha Zazula (ex-Megaforce Records), DJ Will (KNAC), Eddie Trunk (VH1 Classic), Ian Christe (author - Sound of The Best), Steven Blush (author - American Hardcore), Ron Quintana (Rampage Radio) and introducing the music of The Fall, Steve Cone, Concrete Coffin, Osmium, Kaos, Viscid, Kron, Exit to Eternity, Urto, Response Negative and Nocturnal Fear.


There are no comments. Be the first to post one.
  Post comment as a guest user.
Click to login or register:
Your name:
Your email:
(will not appear)
Your comment:
(max. 1000 characters)
Are you human? (Sorry)
All external videos in CosmoLearning are merely links to outside video hosts that make available embed codes to be used by external websites or blogs. CosmoLearning will never be responsible for any kind of hosting of external productions. To contact the original host company or uploader, please click on the video displayed to be forwarded to the original video.