The Seven Wonders of the Muslim World (2008)

Channel 4

The Alhambra in Granada, Spain
Watch Part Number:
1 rating
Views: 7,192
Date Added: 11 years ago.

Documentary Description

A series of intimate, 10-minute portraits, explores the lives and beliefs of six young people whose usual places of worship are beautiful and historic mosques across the Muslim world. The films accompany them as they leave their homes and families, follow them as they travel to Saudi Arabia, and share their responses to the culmination of their journey of a lifetime – the pilgrimage to Mecca, where the prophet Muhammed was born. Within decades of the death of Muhammed, Islam spread fast and its history can be traced through the flowering of exquisite Muslim architecture. Over the next few hundred years, fabulous mosques from Spain to Iran, and from Turkey to Mali formed a focus of Muslim life, as they continue to do today. The Seven Wonders of the Muslim World starts its journey at six of these locations and completes it at the mosque towards which all practising Muslims turn when they pray.

The seven wonders:
1. The Grand Mosque in Mecca
2. The Al-Aqsa Mosque in Jerusalem
3. The Alhambra in Granada, Spain
4. The Blue Mosque in Istanbul
5. The Great Mosque of Djenne in Mali
6. The Imam Mosque in Esfahan, Iran
7. The Badshahi Mosque in Lahore, Pakistan


There are no comments. Be the first to post one.
  Post comment as a guest user.
Click to login or register:
Your name:
Your email:
(will not appear)
Your comment:
(max. 1000 characters)
Are you human? (Sorry)
All external videos in CosmoLearning are merely links to outside video hosts that make available embed codes to be used by external websites or blogs. CosmoLearning will never be responsible for any kind of hosting of external productions. To contact the original host company or uploader, please click on the video displayed to be forwarded to the original video.