Image: The Netherlands: Wars of Independence (1568-1648)

Displaying image 44 of 467 images in History.

Not yet rated

The Netherlands: Wars of Independence (1568-1648)

The Protestantism brought the revolts for political liberties all over Europe. When the catholic king Philip II of Spain suppressed political liberties in the Netherlands, a Protestant revolt led by William of Orange broke out in the Netherlands in 1568. The Union of Utrecht (1579) turned the seven Northern provinces into the United Provinces of the Netherlands. The 17th century witnessed the prolongation of the war between the United Provinces and Spain, until the recognition of the Dutch independence by Spain in 1648 Spain. In 1602 was created the Dutch East India Company, to bring Holland as a major power in Europe and overseas at the end of the 17th century.

Netherlands independence was completely conquered after the Thirty Years' War (1618–1648) with its grown power.

Map Source: University of Texas at Austin, Perry-Castaneda Library, Map Collection
From "The Cambridge Modern History Atlas" edited by Sir Adolphus William Ward, G.W. Prothero, Sir Stanley Mordaunt Leathes, and E.A. Benians. Cambridge University Press; London. 1912

Views: 3,322
Added: 9 years ago.
Topic: Europe 1619-1648: Thirty Years' War



There are no comments. Be the first to post one.
  Post comment as a guest user.
Click to login or register:
Your name:
Your email:
(will not appear)
Your comment:
(max. 1000 characters)
Are you human? (Sorry)