University of Cambridge (Cambridge)

The University of Cambridge (informally Cambridge University, or simply Cambridge), located in the City of Cambridge, Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom, is the second oldest university in the English-speaking world and the fourth oldest in Europe. The name is sometimes abbreviated as Cantab. in post-nominals, a shortened form of Cantabrigiensis (an adjective derived from Cantabrigia, the Latinised form of Cambridge).

The university grew out of an association of scholars in the city of Cambridge that was formed, early records suggest, in 1209 by scholars leaving Oxford after a dispute with townsfolk there. The universities of Oxford and Cambridge are often jointly referred to as "Oxbridge". In addition to cultural and practical associations as a historic part of British society, the two universities also have a long history of rivalry with each other.

Academically, Cambridge is consistently ranked in the world's top five universities and as a premier leading university in Europe by numerous media and academic rankings. The University's alumni include 85 Nobel Laureates as of 2009.

Courses Offered by Cambridge (3)

Name # Video Lectures
Advanced Fluid Mechanics Advanced Fluid Mechanics 13
Supersymmetry and Extra Dimensions Supersymmetry and Extra Dimensions 25
Stephen Hawking Lectures Stephen Hawking Lectures 4

Documentaries Offered by Cambridge (1)

Name Watch
Richard Feynman Lecture: Elementary Particles and the Laws of Physics (1986) Richard Feynman Lecture: Elementary Particles and the Laws of Physics (1986) Play Video
NOTE: CosmoLearning is not affiliated or endorsed by University of Cambridge. This page is only intended to credit this content provider for their educational content being included on the CosmoLearning site.