London School of Economics (London School of Economics)

The London School of Economics and Political Science, commonly referred to as the London School of Economics or LSE, is a specialist constituent college of the University of London in London, England. Founded in 1895 by Fabian Society members Sidney Webb, Beatrice Webb and George Bernard Shaw, the School joined the federal University of London in 1900 as the Faculty of Economics. Degrees were issued to the school's students from 1902 onwards.

Today, the LSE remains a specialist single-faculty constituent college of the University with 8,700 full-time students. It describes itself as the world's leading social science institution for teaching and research, which spans the full breadth of the social sciences. The school is among the world's most selective universities, with the lowest admissions rate of any university in Britain, and is consistently placed among the top higher education institutions in the world in university rankings. As a member of the Russell Group LSE was found to have the highest percentage of world-leading research of any university in the 2008 Research Assessment Exercise. The school has produced many notable alumni in the fields of politics and economics, including several Nobel laureates and heads of state.

Documentaries Offered by London School of Economics (1)

Name Watch
In Conversation: Willard Van Orman Quine (1994) In Conversation: Willard Van Orman Quine (1994) Play Video
NOTE: CosmoLearning is not affiliated or endorsed by London School of Economics. This page is only intended to credit this content provider for their educational content being included on the CosmoLearning site.